Knowledgebase: Troubleshooting
Losing ACLs on Mac OS X when Synchronizing
Posted by Sven Koester on 23 March 2011 17:40

Advanced control lists (ACL) allow defining file permissions beyond the older posix access rights standard. When synchronizing files on Macs, the ACLs are transferred in the same way as all other file attributes. But in order for the ACLs to be created on the target, the user and group IDs (UID an GID) in use must be assigned to the exact same user and group names as on the source.

When synchronizing files from one folder to another folder on the same Mac, this is not a problem.

When synchronizing to another Mac, it is recommended to ensure that both Macs are in the same user domain of an Open Directory server to ensure the same UID and GID are used. Otherwise, setting the ACLs on the target will fail.

This applies to all shared environments, including but not limited to XSans.

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments:
CAPTCHA Verification 
 
Please enter the text you see in the image into the textbox below (we use this to prevent automated submissions).